It’s Qualifier Time at Rampage

Who's invited, a video and more

By Vernon Felton

Maybe you’ve somehow slept, Rip Van Winkle-style, through the past decade and have somehow never been exposed to the absolute insanity that is the Red Bull Rampage. If that’s you, or if you just want to check out a pretty cool video that does a good job of summing up what Rampage is all about, check it out below. Already know the score? Then skip the clip and read on to see who’s gathered here in Utah to compete.

NEWS: Red Bull Rampage Returns

Rampage has been called the pinnacle of freeride mountain biking and, sure, the unique setting in Virgin, Utah has a lot to do with that, but what truly sets Rampage apart is the sheer quantity of talent that shows up each time to send it off those cliffs. The best riders in the world will lay it on the line in the next few days. Who gets invited to compete at Rampage?

Andreu Lacondeguy, Anthony Messere and Antoine Bizet

Cam Zink and Brandon Semenuk, the 2010 and 2008 champions, will automatically be placed into the October 7th final. The top 12 finalists from 2010 are pre-qualified, excused from competing in today’s qualifying battle. Invites to the qualifier went out to the top 12 ranked riders from the FMB World Tour, as well as the top two finishers at the Chatel Mountain Style in France in July.

That probably doesn’t help clarify things, does it?

Okay, here’s the start list of riders (in absolutely no particular order), vying today for 12 spots to join the already pre-qualified finalists:

If you want to see some short bios of each rider, CLICK HERE):

Antoine Bizet
Garett Buehler
James Doerfling
Brendan Fairclough
Pierre Edouard Ferry
Thomas Genon
Casey Groves
Mick Hannah

Darren Berrecloth, Garett Buehler and Gee Atherton

Mike Hopkins
Brendan Howey
Ramon Hunziker
Mike Kinrade
Cam McCaul
Kelly McGarry
Anthony Messere
Kyle Norbaten

Geoff Gulevich, Greg Watts and James Doerfling

Sam Pilgrim
Brett Rheeder
Curtis Robinson
Nick Simcik
Martin Soderstrom
Chris Van Dine
Nico Vink
Greg Watts
Wil White

Kelly McGarry, Kenny Smith and Kurt Sorge